IHeart Radio Music Awards Recap – 03/12/2018

by Gino on March 12, 2018

in Front Page News,Gino and The Magic Morning Show


Last night’s iHeartradio Music Awards big winners were Ed Sheeran, who took home both Song Of The Year (for “Shape Of You”) and Male Artist Of The Year, Taylor Swift, Female Artist Of The Year and Cardi B, Best New Artist. DJ Khaled and Hailey Baldwin (in a “Stoneman Douglas High” T-shirt) co-hosted.

As for the show itself, Eminem’s fiery performance of “Nowhere Fast” with Kehlani, ignited the crowd gathered at the Forum in Los Angeles, where a number of honors were handed out on the live telecast. Eminem’s rousing turn followed a stirring speech by one of the students from Parkland, Florida’s embattled Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School decrying gun violence, introduced by Big Sean.

Chance The Rapper, had previously struck a positive tone in accepting the Innovator award from Pharrell Williams, humbly insisting, “I didn’t invent independence for artists,” then giving nods to James Brown, Ray Charles, Prince, and, after seeing the “Women’s Rights” message emblazoned on Pharrell’s t-shirt, Nicki Minaj, Taylor Swift and Beyoncé for breaking artistic barriers. Best New Artist winner Cardi B, opened the show, performing her collaboration with G-Eazy, “No Limit.” Her giddy acceptance speech was one of the evening’s highlights. Paris Hilton and her pooch came on to present Cutest Musician’s Pet to Ariana Grande’s canine Toulouse, who accepted the award in a segment filmed by Grande herself.


Full Story: Billboard

Winners Include:

  • Song of the Year: “Shape Of You” – Ed Sheeran
  • Female Artist of the Year: Taylor Swift
  • Male Artist of the Year: Ed Sheeran
  • Best Duo/Group of the Year: Maroon 5
  • Best New Artist: Cardi B
  • Best Collaboration: “Something Just Like This” – The Chainsmokers and Coldplay
  • Best New Pop Artist: Liam Payne
  • Alternative Rock Song of the Year: “Feel It Still” – Portugal. The Man
  • Alternative Rock Artist of the Year: Imagine Dragons
  • Best New Rock/Alternative Rock Artist: Judah & The Lion
  • Rock Song of the Year: “Run” – Foo Fighters
  • Rock Artist of the Year: Metallica
  • Country Song of the Year: “Body Like A Back Road” – Sam Hunt
  • Country Artist of the Year: Thomas Rhett
  • Best New Country Artist: Luke Combs
  • Dance Song of the Year: “Stay” – Zedd and Alessia Cara
  • Dance Artist of the Year: The Chainsmokers
  • Hip-Hop Song of the Year: “Wild Thoughts” – DJ Khaled featuring Rihanna and Bryson Tiller
  • Hip-Hop Artist of the Year: Kendrick Lamar
  • Best New Hip-Hop Artist: Cardi B
  • R&B Song of the Year: “That’s What I Like”
  • Regional Mexican Song of the Year: “Las Ultras” – Bruno Mars
  • R&B Artist of the Year: Bruno Mars
  • Best New R&B Artist: Khalid
  • Latin Song of the Year: “Despacito”
  • Regional Mexican Song of the Year: “Las Ultras” – Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee
  • Latin Artist of the Year: Luis Fonsi
  • Best New Latin Artist: Abraham Mateo
  • Regional Mexican Song of the Year: “Las Ultras” – Calibre 50
  • Regional Mexican Artist of the Year: Calibre 50
  • Best New Regional Mexican Artist: Christian Nodal
  • Producer of the Year: Andrew Watt
  • Best Lyrics: “Slow Hands” – Niall Horan
  • Best Cover Song: The Chain” – Harry Styles
  • Best Fan Army presented by Taco Bell: BTS Army – BTS
  • Best Music Video: “Sign of the Times” – Harry Styles
  • Social Star Award: Anitta
  • Cutest Musician’s Pet: Toulouse – Ariana Grande
  • Best Boy Band: BTS
  • Best Solo Breakout: Louis Tomlinson
  • Best Remix: “Reggaetón Lento” – CNCO and Little Mix


Please follow and like us:

Comments on this entry are closed.